Board, Committees (elected), and Council

It takes a large number of volunteers to help run an organization as large and active as First Parish Church of Stow & Acton! Getting involved on a committee is a good way to "get your feet wet" participating in our church's life. Our Board and Council are elected democratically by the members of the congregation to oversee our operations. It is hard work but very fulfilling. Won't you help?

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is made up of nine Elected Members, led by our President, and includes the Vice President, Treasurer, Clerk, and Minister. The Board is responsible for the general health and well being of the congregation and the functioning of the church. They meet on the second Thursday of each month in the church. Meetings are open to the church community.

See the Members & Friends Area for the Board of Trustees Meeting Summaries.

Current Officers, 2022-2023

  • Jenni Edgerton, President
  • Brendon Chetwynd, Vice President
  • Johanna Pyle, Clerk
  • Bill Froberg, Treasurer
  • Board Members: Roza Anthony, Carol Feldhusen, Trish Guditz, Ruth Lull, & Elizabeth Michaud

Bylaws. See the bylaws for rules of the church operations, and duties of elected positions.

Cindy, Jenni, Brendon

Johanna, Bill.and Elizabeth


The following committees welcome new members, any time! See the bylaws for general committee descriptions. Contact the chair for questions. You can also look up the chair's contact information online in the Members & Friends Area. Chairs serve one or more years after election at the annual meeting in May. Their service starts at the start of the new fiscal year (July 1). 


Members 2023-2024
(c) = Chair


Arts Sharon Webb Organizes arts and theatre programs

Adult Programs

Hector Constantzos (c), Margaret Tucker, Ann Sadler, Lisa Fagerstrom

Arranges adult educational programs such as classes, lectures and discussion groups.


Scott Feldhusen (c), Rick Layer, Lee Cooprider, Bob Glorioso, Dave Kay, Bill Froberg, Hector Constantzos, Kevin O'Brien, Rick Lent

Handles care of the church buildings and grounds.


Hector Constantzos (c), Rebecca McNeil, Joe Stadolnik

Oversees communications within and outside the congregation including the website, electronic communications, church member/visitor database, and newsgroup moderation.

Denominational Affairs

Margaret Tucker

Is the point of contact with the UUA, the district organization, other UU churches and related organizations.


June Mallon, John Kendrick, Katy Weeks

Monitors the investment of the Endowment.


Leah Abraham

Recommends the creation of, or modification to, existing policies and guidelines relative to facility usage priorities, fees, and rules of church and non-church function.


Lee Cooprider

Prepares annual budget with input, recommends financial courses of action.

Fundraising Council

Sharon Brownfield

Coordinates various fundraising activities throughout the year.


Sonja Furneaux (c), Rick Lent (c)

Oversees groundskeeping.


Sandi Mrowka (c) & Derek McCarthy (c)


Coordinates coffee hour.


Lisa Fagerstrom (c), Sue Moses, Jeff Brown, Janet Beatrice, Sheryl LaFayette, Sandra Mrowka, Derek McCarthy

Welcomes new and prospective members with the Parish Membership Development Coordinator and Minister.



Moderator for all Congregational meetings


Peter Fiske (c), Ruth Lull, Pat Sorn

Spreads the joy of music through the care of the Church's musical instruments, bringing beautiful, inspiring music to both Worship services and the greater community, and supports the Music Director.


Mark Koenig (c), Ann Sadler, Lynda Layer, Carolyn Zettler

Prepares a list of nominations for each elective office to be voted upon at the Annual Meeting.

Parner Church David Kay (c) & Katy Weeks (c) Communicates and coordinates with our partner church located in Olasztelek, Transylvania.

Religious Education

Russ Hart (c), Laura Skorczeski, Justin Marble, Lindsay LaPointe, Susan Powers, Sue Stewart

Develops and coordinates religious education programming for children and youth, with the Director of Religious Education and the Youth Coordinator.

Social Justice Council

Joshua Ledwell (c), Odette Newsome (c), June McKnight, Aimee Ledwell, Dawn Olcott, Hector Constantzos, Rick Lent, Diane Miller, Bob Tabor, Lisa Fagerstrom, 

Provides opportunities for every member to express, individually and collectively, concern on ethical, social, political and economic issues. 

Social Programs

Aimee Ledwell (c)

Organizes adult and family social activities.


Neil Saunders (c), Marcia Allison, Susan Avery, Sharon Webb, Aimee Ledwell

Works with the minister providing support and feedback for Sunday and special services during the church year. Plans, coordinates, and oversees summer worship. 

Policies Page - Policies for various committees.

Projects and Task Forces

These are chartered by the Board of Trustees for specific jobs, and disband when complete.

Program Council

The Program Council comprises most of the elected committee chairs. Led by the Vice President, it meets 3 to 4 times throughout the church year. The meetings are open to the church community.

Pledge Secretary

The Pledge Secretary is responsible for recording financial contributions and for sending end-of-year donation statements.

Current Pledge Secretary: Brendon Chetwynd


The Moderator is elected for a one year term to preside at all Special Meetings and at the Annual Meeting.

Current Moderator: TBD